Collective Worship

At St Richard’s Primary School, we understand worship to be a special act or occasion, whose purpose is to show reverence to God. Collective worship involves all members of the school community coming together in praise, reflection and worship.

We base our collective worship on the teachings of the Bible and the traditions of the Christian Church. We also try to incorporate our whole school values into our daily reflections and worship. We conduct all worship sessions in a manner that is sensitive to the individual faiths and beliefs of all members of the school community. When appropriate, we hold assemblies that reflect other religious traditions that are represented in our school and in the wider community.

Below is a calendar of this year’s collective worship assemblies, led by each year group. If there are any changes to dates, these will be communicated via the school’s weekly Newsletter.

 

TERM

CLASS

THEME

DATE

Autumn

Year 5 Topic work Friday 25th September
Year 1 Harvest Tuesday 6th October 2015
Year 4 Armistice Day

British Values

Wednesday 11th November 2015
Year 3 Topic work Friday 27th November 2015
Year 2 Christmas Monday 14th  and Tuesday 15th December

Spring

Year 4 Topic work Tuesday 12th January 2016
Year 6 Lent Wednesday 10th February
Reception Topic work Tuesday 1st March 2016
Year 5 Easter Friday 24th March 2016

Summer

Reception St George’s Day 23rd April

British Values

Friday 22rd April 2016
Year 2 Topic work Friday 6th May
Year 1 Topic work Thursday 26th May 2016
Year 3 St Richard of Chichester Feast Day Thursday 16th June 2016
Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly Wednesday 20th July 2016